First Concrete Pouring of Rooppur Nuclear Power Unit 2

First Concrete Pouring of Rooppur Nuclear Power Unit 2

Honourable Prime Minister of Bangladesh Smt. Sheikh Hasina performed the first pour of concrete of Unit-2 of Rooppur Nuclear Power Project (RNPP) on July 14, 2018.

AERB participated in this function. AERB delegation and the Bangladesh Atomic Energy Regulatory Authority (BAERA) officials discussed specifics of cooperation between the two regulatory bodies under their bilateral arrangement signed in April 2017.

Prof. Naiyyum Choudhury, Chairman, BAERA welcomed the Indian delegation that included Shri S. A. Bhardwaj, Chairman, AERB and Dr. L.R. Bishnoi, Head, Nuclear Projects Safety Division (NPSD), AERB. Chairman, BAERA expressed the need for AERB’s support in training and exposing their staff to regulatory processes of safety review and assessment as well as inspections. Chairman, AERB thanked BAERA for inviting AERB delegation and assured support and co-operation under the bilateral arrangement with BAERA.

The visit of AERB delegation to the plant site was appreciated. Honourable Prime Minister of Bangladesh and Mr. Yeafesh Osman, Minister of Science and Technology thanked India for conducting training programmes and extending co-operation for staff of Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant and BAERA.

About Author

Arnaud Lefevre

Arnaud Lefevre is the Chief Executive Officer of Dynatom International. Arnaud is in charge of the international development of the business portfolio.